AITP, with its Partners, currently sponsors three awards to recognize outstanding performance in the IT community.  All three of these highly coveted awards go through an in depth application process where the nominees are judged by a panel of their peers.

CIO of the Year Award – jointly sponsored by the Executives’ Club of Chicago, AITP Chicago, and SIM Chicago. This award was first presented in 1995.  Past winners include:

2017 – Glenn Schneider, CIO of Discover Financial
2016 – Eric Yablonka, VP & CIO, University of Chicago Medical Center and Biological Sciences
2015 – Sonny Garg, VP and Chief Innovation Officer, Exelon Corporation
2014 – Yvonne Scott, CIO, Crowe Horwath LLP
2014 – Brian Hedberg, CIO, Healthcare Service Corporation (HCSC)
2013 – Sanjib Sahoo, CTO, OptionsMonster Holdings, Inc.
2012 – No Award, the process was switched from the Fall of 2012 to the Spring of 2013
2011 – Stewart H. McCutcheon CIO/CPO at Ecolabs/Nalco Company
2010 – Susan Malisch CIO at Loyola University Chicago
2009 – John M. Hinshaw CIO at The Boeing Company
2008 – Timothy R. Zoph CIO at Northwestern Memorial Hospital
2007 – Patricia Morrison CIO at Motorola
2006 – Cathie Brune CIO at Allstate Insurance
2005 – John Golden CIO at C N A Financial
2004 – Patrick Moroney CIO at Health Care Services Corp (BCBS)
2003 – William Farrow CIO at Chicago Board Of Trade (CBOT)
2002 – John Fisher CIO at Smith Bucklin
2001 – John Moon CIO at Baxter Healthcare
2000 – Jean Holley CIO at USG
1999 – Lloyd Love CIO at Amcol International
1998 – Cathie Kozik CIO at Tellabs
1997 – Larry Buettner CIO at First National Bank of Chicago
1996 – Terry McKillop CIO at Rittenhouse Paper
1995 – Mark Barry CIO at TTX

Most Effective IT Team Award – jointly sponsored by AITP Chicago and SIM Chicago.  This Award was first presented in 2008.  Each year the Award is made in three categories covering Large, Medium and Small organizations.  Past winners include:

2016 – City of Chicago (Large Firm), Mesirow Financial (Medium Firm), Connect Hearing (Small Firm)
2015 – University of Chicago Medicine (Large Firm), Jenner & Block (Medium Firm), Illinois Student Assistance Commission
2014 – USG (Large Firm), Tate & Lyle (Medium Firm), Association Management Center (Small Firm)
2013 – True Value Company (Large Firm), tradeMonster Group (Small Firm)
2012 – Kraft Foods/Mondelez Int’l (Large Firm), DeVry (Medium Firm), Crowe Horwath LLP (Small Firm)
2011 – Motorola Mobility (Large Firm), Hallmark (Medium Firm)
2009 – Chicago Public Schools (Large Firm), Hallmark (Medium), Cardian Learning Group (Small Firm)
2008 – Options Clearing House (Large Firm), Loyola University (Medium Firm), Littelfuse (Small Firm)

CISO of the Year Award – jointly sponsored by the Chicago Chapters of AITP, ISSA and InfraGard.  This Award was first presented in 2013.  Past winners include:

2017 – CISO of the Year, Erik Decker, Chief Security & Privacy Officer, University of Chicago Medicine
2016 – CISO of the Year, Todd Fitzgerald, CISO, Grant Thornton International Ltd
2015 – CISO of the Year, Kevin Novak, CISO and Technology Risk Officer for Northern Trust Bank
2014 – CISO of the Year, Arian McMillan, CISO, Deparartment of Innovation and Technology, City of Chicago
2013 – CISO of the Year, Jason Witty, SVP & CISO, US Bank.