CIO of the Year Award

Nominations are now open for the 2017 CIO of the Year Award

Since 1998, The Executives’ Club of Chicago, together with The Association of Information Technology Professionals and Society of Information Management Chicago, have recognized technology leaders with the CIO of the Year Award. Selection criteria includes:

  • leadership in driving business value and technological innovation
  • securing the business
  • developing business partnerships
  • and creating best in class workplace for IT professionals.

Each of the CIO category answers are individually judged by a panel of their peers drawn from the Executives’ Club Technology Committee, SIM and AITP.  The panel includes several past winners of the Award.

Key dates for this year’s Award are:

  • February 21, 2017 – Nominations Due (applications will be sent to those that quality)
  • March 20, 2017 – Completed Application Due
  • May 1, 2017 – Finalists are selected
  • June 1, 2017 – Thank you letters are sent to the winner and the other applicants
  • June 2017 – Awards Program held to announce the CIO of the Year as well as two other awards presented by the Executives’ Club – Innovator of the Year and Corporate Citizen of the Year.  This event draws 1000+.

Application Form – Nominate today

Former Recipients:
CIO of 2016: Eric Yablonka, University of Chicago
CIO of 2015: Sonny Garg, Exelon
CIO of 2014: S. Yvonne Scott, Crowe Horwath LLP and  Brian Hedberg, Health Care Service Corporation
CIO of 2013: Sanjib Sahoo, optionMONSTER
CIO of 2012: Stewart H. McCutcheon, Ecolabs/Nalco Company
CIO of 2011: Susan Malisch, Loyola University Chicago
CIO of 2010: John M. Hinshaw, The Boeing Company
CIO of 2009: Timothy R. Zoph, Northwestern Memorial Hospital
CIO of 2008: Patricia Morrison, Motorola
CIO of 2007: Cathie Brune, Allstate Insurance
CIO of 2006: John Golden, CNA Financial
CIO of 2005: Patrick Moroney, Health Care Services Corp (BCBS)
CIO of 2004: William Farrow CIO, Chicago Board Of Trade (CBOT)
CIO of 2003: John Fisher, Smith Bucklin & Co.
CIO of 2002: John Moon, Baxter Healthcare
CIO of 2001: Jean Holley, USG
CIO of 2000: Lloyd Love, Amcol International
CIO of 1999: Cathie Kozik, Tellabs

Contact Emily Meisenzahl with any questions at:
Submit the nomination application to:


2016 CIO of the Year, Eric Yablonka, VP & CIO, University of Chicago Medical Center and Biological Sciences

AITP Chicago, SIM Chicago and The Executives’ Club of Chicago wish to congratulate Eric Yablonka, VP and Chief Innovation Officer of the University of Chicago Medical Center and Biological Sciences  who was chosen as the 2016 CIO of the Year.  Nominations were made by CxOs and senior business & IT executives.  All judging and elections were done by peers in the IT community.  The award was presented as part of The Executives’ Club of Chicago’s Annual Awards luncheon on May 17th.

Specifically, we look for leadership in driving business value and technology innovation, business partnerships and creating the best-in-class workplace for IT professionals.

EC_QuickPicks_NavyPier-001-12                EC_QuickPicks_NavyPier-001-1

Gary Czubak, Eric Yablonka, Kevin Rooney and Mark Lafferty (left picture)

Technology Committee co-chairs, Mark Lafferty of CDW and Bob Kress of Accenture, in partnership with leaders and members of AITP and SIM, constituted the selection committee and had the honor of evaluating a group of outstanding Chicagoland technology leaders.

As in the past, we were fortunate to have so many highly qualified nominees participate in this award.  This year, in addition to presenting the award, we also wanted to give recognition to our finalists:

–  Glenn Schneider, CIO and Executive Vice President of Business Technology, Discover
–  Creighton Warren, CIO, USG
–  And this year’s CIO of the Year Eric Yablonka, Vice President and CIO, University of Chicago Medicine and Biological Sciences

Eric has more than twenty-five years of experience in leading hospital operations and information systems management functions. He has served as the Vice President and Chief Information Officer of the University of Chicago Medical Center and Biological Sciences since 2001 with accountability for infrastructure totaling over 20,000 devices, medical grade networks and wireless services, interactive patient platforms, Infosec security services and 3 data center locations.

As a member of the Senior Management Group, Eric works with the UCMC Board of Trustees to execute the business strategies of the organization. He has leadership responsibility for the T-2 program whose focus is to transform how UCMC functions and drives operational improvements in supply chain and administrative management, clinical care delivery, patient and physician access.

Eric’s accomplishments with UCMC are numerous and include the implementation of UCMC’s electronic medical record resulting in transformational improvements in patient quality and service; development and implementation of an Enterprise Informatics and Analytics program to drive significant organizational performance; supporting the two very large facility development projects that deployed innovative – first of its kind wireless technology; as well as the implementation of interactive patient engagement platforms to improve the patient experience and drive interventions – to name just a few.

Eric has been an advocate for innovation in the healthcare industry. He speaks about these topics in industry and technology conferences and meetings. He has written articles for trade publications about technology innovation and adoption. Eric and UCMC have been featured in publications in recognition of their accomplishments.