2015 CISO of the Year winner announced

The Chicago chapters of the Information Systems Security Association (ISSA), Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) and Infragard are proud to announce the winner of the 2015 Chicago Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) of the Year Award. This year’s winner is Mr. Kevin Novak, the CISO and Technology Risk Officer for Northern Trust Bank.

Prior to his leadership role at Northern Trust Bank, Kevin managed Information Security, Records Management, and Enterprise Risk programs at Discover Financial Services, was the Chief Operating Officer and Director of Consulting Services for Neohapsis and held a senior consulting role at Ciber Network Services. His strong technical skills coupled with his Audit, Accounting and Tax Accounting background give Kevin a critical eye for the business of IT Security.

Kevin was selected after careful consideration of seven other eligible CISO nominees. In its third year, the award recognizes the achievements of the individual, Industry leadership and contributions in recognition of the key role that information security now plays in global, regional, and local business.

The winner is determined over a 90-day nomination and peer judging period that culminated with the Award Breakfast at the Metropolitan Club of Chicago October 20. This year, through Trexin Consulting, two business leaders well versed on the criticality of effective information protection practices partnered with us to select the winner. Mr. Artur Fridberg and Mr. Dan Yunker are recognized as the Chief Executive CISO Finalist Evaluators for 2015.

Wayne Johnson, Co-Chair, ISSA and Tina Hauri, Co-Chair, AITP are once again impressed by this year’s slate of candidates. “The level of leadership evidenced by all of the nominees this year was phenomenal. The Chicago business community continues to benefit from a world-class pool of Information Security Executives,” said Hauri.

The program has received broad industry support and program sponsorship from Agari, CISCO, CSR, IBM, Optive, PulseSecure, Bromium, Intel, Infoblox, PalaceGate Corporation, Securion and Skybox. For 2016 Program information, please write to