Log in

2023 CIO of the Year Awards - Press Realease


Press Release:

CHICAGO - In partnership with The Society of Information Management (SIM) Chicago Chapter and the AITP Chicago Chapter, The Executives’ Club is thrilled to announce the following winners of the 2023 CIO of the Year Awards.

The Award Winners

The CIO of the Year Award recognizes the CIO for leadership in driving business value, technological innovation, business partnerships and creating best-in-class workplaces for technology professionals.

Angela O’Banion, CIO, Cook County Health, was announced as the winner of the 2023 CIO of the Year.

"I am excited to help drive the future of Cook County’s healthcare business and technology as we serve the citizens of our great County. I'm inspired by the accomplishments of my fellow nominees, and thank SIM Chicago, AITP, and the Executives’ Club of Chicago for bestowing this honor on me,” said O’Banion. “I share it with Israel Rocha, our Health System CEO and our healthcare colleagues. I want to give special recognition to my family and friends, to my passionate technology team, and to our patients for entrusting us with their care."

The CIO Innovator of the Year Award recognizes a CIO who has been especially innovative in his or her approach to producing business results far above the other nominees.

Jason Birnbaum, CIO, United Airlines, has been named the CIO Innovator of the year.

The CIO+ Award celebrates a CIO who has successfully expanded his or her current role into other business areas like Operations, Marketing, Sales, CEO role, etc., thus, broadening their impact on driving success for the overall business entity.

Kevin D. Rooney, CAO & CIO, West Monroe Partners, has been named the 2023 CIO+ Award winner.

The CIO Impact Awardis aimed at recognizing those CIOs who have made significant and measurable social or economic impact within their organization or our communities.

Maryann Byrdak, CIO, Feeding America and Raj Sampoornam, SVP & CIO, Byline Bank have been named the CIO Impact Award winners for 2023.

The winners were announced during a dinner ceremony at the Union League Club of Chicago on October 11th, 2023.

The Chicagoland CIO of the Year Program recognizes the contributions of information and technology leaders to their organizations, their profession, and the local community.

To learn more about the 2022 CIO of the Year Awards, click here. 

Upcoming Events

Visit to access research, communities, councils and philanthropy. 

© 2021 Association of Information Technology Professionals - Chicago Chapter

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Report an Issue

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software